My first WordPress Blog

Blue Dawn

Welcome to my first WordPress blog!  My good friend Laura Macky gave me a great primer today on how to get started.  I still have a lot to learn, so bear with me as I muddle through and add improvements as I go.

The purpose of this blog is two-fold:
First, I want to share my photography with you and the story behind each image.

Second (and more importantly), I want you to share your thoughts about the images and stories I post.

Hopefully, you’ll be drawn to my main website and browse all of my work.  In the meantime, let’s have some fun and enjoy this new experience.

This first photograph is an image I call “Blue Dawn”.   It a capture of the “Central Basin”, which is part of the San Francisco Bay.  It’s located on the eastern edge of The City and very close to an area called DogPatch.  Those are old pier pilings are from what I believe to be Pier 60 through Pier 64.  They’re just stumps in the water now.

I took this shot on a cloudy morning last October.  The colors that morning were as you see them.  The sky visually melted into the bay.  This is a long exposure of 8 seconds at setting f/32 and ISO 200 which gave me the silky look to the water.  It was the first image sold from my collection as it was float-mounted metal (aluminum) which added great depth.

More to come in the future.

Cheers!  Dan

#d3citypics #danshehanphotography

About Dan Shehan Photography

I’m a landscape photographer and call San Francisco my home. My favorite locations to shoot are around the Bay, within the City, and along the amazing California coastline. You can find my best photographs at: www.danshehanphotography.com
This entry was posted in Art, Photography, Seascape and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My first WordPress Blog

  1. Frank Gonski (from G+) says:

    Good Luck on your new adventure.
    FJG

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lauramacky says:

    Beautiful image Dan! I’m so excited you are here in Word Press!!! Welcome! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck with your site – I have found the greater wordpress community to be full of helpful and interesting people, so I hope you will enjoy your blogging journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Steve Décaillet says:

    I wish you much fun with this blog. It’s always exciting to try new things, especially when you are passionate. And when I look at your beautiful photos, I noticed the passion of the photographer in you. Any way, I hope you’ll make us discover many beautiful pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

