The Reaching Pier

Late yesterday afternoon, as I started toward the beach in Pacifica (just south of San Francisco), I noticed that the beautiful puffy clouds that floated over San Francisco throughout the day had all but disappeared. My first thought was that the sunset wouldn’t be as dramatic as I had hoped.

But when I arrived at my intended destination, I stopped in my tracks and stared… what you see in this image is what my gut told me was something special to behold. The motion of the storm blown seas crashing along the shore…the pier seemingly reaching toward the last bit of light…the few cloud remnants filtering the setting sun.

I shook myself back to what I needed to do and rushed down to the rocks above the incoming tide and set up my equipment. Somehow, I was able to push the button.

Pacifica Pier

Sometimes it’s difficult for an artist to convey what’s in their gut when they exhibit their work. I only hope I conveyed what was in mine.

Cheers!

About Dan Shehan Photography

Iā€™m a landscape photographer and call San Francisco my home. My favorite locations to shoot are around the Bay, within the City, and along the amazing California coastline. You can find my best photographs at: www.danshehanphotography.com
This entry was posted in Art, Photography, Seascape and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Reaching Pier

  1. lauramacky says:

    Okay this is not fair! You’re out taking pictures and I’m stuck moving! LOL Seriously though, this image is amazing! I love it.

    Like

  2. This is indeed a beautiful and stunning picture! I would imagine it was even more breathtaking to be there. šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

