Alcatraz

I went out early the other morning to shoot the Golden Gate Bridge, which I posted earlier. But one thing I’ve learned as a photographer is to not focus on JUST your intended subject. Look around…is there anything else of interest?
Well, on this day there was. Doing a complete 180, I saw this image of Alcatraz Island (The Rock) being silhouetted against the glow of the early rising sun.  To the left of the island is a container ship just going out to sea.

A lot of photographers shy away from shooting directly into the sun for many valid reasons. I on the other hand push the button if I like what I see. Cheers!
Alcatraz

About Dan Shehan Photography

I’m a landscape photographer and call San Francisco my home. My favorite locations to shoot are around the Bay, within the City, and along the amazing California coastline. You can find my best photographs at: www.danshehanphotography.com
This entry was posted in Landscape, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Alcatraz

  1. lauramacky says:

    This photo is so beautiful! I also like to shoot into the sun sometimes. This effect here is gorgeous with the reflection over the water, and what I love best is the thin layer of low lying fog left on the bay. The perfect morning shot!

    Like

  2. breathtaking. I always love the effects of sun on the water and this one is no exception!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

