Sutro Baths

A bit of history on the Sutro Baths from Wikipedia:

On March 14, 1896, the Sutro Baths were opened to the public as the world’s largest indoor swimming pool establishment. The baths were built on the western side of San Francisco by wealthy entrepreneur and former mayor ofSan Francisco (1894–1896) Adolph Sutro.

The structure filled a small beach inlet below the Cliff House, also owned by Adolph Sutro at the time. Both the Cliff House and the former baths site are now a part of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area, operated by theUnited States National Park Service. The baths struggled for years, mostly due to the very high operating and maintenance costs. Shortly after closing, a fire in 1966 destroyed the building while it was in the process of being demolished. All that remains of the site are concrete walls, blocked off stairs and passageways, and a tunnel with a deep crevice in the middle. The cause of the fire was arson. Shortly afterwards, the developer left San Francisco and claimed insurance money.

OK…pencils down, our history lesson for Saturday is now over, lol.  I hope you found it interesting.  Cheers!

Sutro Baths

Sutro Baths

Per the request of follower Kazg10, here is the color version:
Sutro Baths

About Dan Shehan Photography

I’m a landscape photographer and call San Francisco my home. My favorite locations to shoot are around the Bay, within the City, and along the amazing California coastline. You can find my best photographs at: www.danshehanphotography.com
This entry was posted in Black & White and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sutro Baths

  1. Thanks Dan. I knew about the Cliff House but not about the baths. My mother took me to the Cliff House when I was a child. That would have been almost 60 years ago. I like the view and had been back in the 70s but not since then. I’ll have to try it again.

    I like your image. The b&w creates a more historic feeling. I would image that was your intent.

    Like

  2. lauramacky says:

    Pencils down LOL. Do I need to bring the teacher an apple? Nice shot Dan. I like the color one on G+ too. 🙂

    Like

  3. kazg10 says:

    Love this Dan, I am a sucker for sea/tidal pools and in B&W this looks great – like man vs sea. Would be interested in the colour version as well.

    Like

  4. Beautiful tonal range, mood monochrome. Lovely way to start a Sunday morning, thanks Dan

    Like

  5. kazg10 says:

    Thanks Dan for showing the colour photo, I am just too inquisitive at times. Much appreciated. I quite like the colour but yes you are definitely right the Black & White gives it more drama and less distracting sans the colour. Its amazing the whole picture changes its dynamics when you change the colour, that’s what always amazes me with B&W.

    Like

Leave a Reply

