Any Moment Now – Monochrome Madness

A Photographer’s Vision

I had no idea what to expect when I arrived at Mussel Rock Beach the other day, especially since it was my first visit.  I had a vision earlier in the day of what I was looking for and hoped that perhaps something similar could be found here.  As I walked along the pathway, snapping a few images along the way, I felt that any moment now something was going to hit me. When I arrived at this particular spot I stopped.  Oh my gosh, this was the scene I had thought about earlier that day!  A scene where just a couple of  rocks led my eyes out toward the horizon of a dramatic sky where the clouds were streaming in the same direction and all processed in black and white.

I sat on the rocks just a few feet above where the waves were crashing and set up my camera.  I waited for just the right light, framed the scene, held my breath, watching through the viewfinder for just the right wave action, then I pressed the button.  I viewed the result on the LCD panel and stopped.  I got it!

I continued to watch the amazing view in front of me knowing I couldn’t just get up and leave.  I sat there listening to the waves crashing below me and felt the salt spray hit my face. I watched as groups of pelicans flew low over the water heading to their next feeding ground.  I clicked a few more shots, took a deep satisfying breath, stood up and walked away.  I left feeling that this was truly an amazing moment for me and I can’t wait to go back.

Any Moment Now

Any Moment Now

Many thanks again to Leanne Cole for continuing this fun and inspiring weekly showcase that is: Monochrome Madness. Cheers!

About Dan Shehan Photography

I’m a landscape photographer and call San Francisco my home. My favorite locations to shoot are around the Bay, within the City, and along the amazing California coastline. You can find my best photographs at: www.danshehanphotography.com
This entry was posted in Black & White, Fine Art, Landscape, Photography, Seascape and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Any Moment Now – Monochrome Madness

  1. lauramacky says:

    I’m so glad you had a zen moment out there on Mussel Beach! Lovely light. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kazg10 says:

    I really like the converging lines?? Not sure that’s the way to describe it but I really like the clouds and the sea heading at an angle to greet each other. Perfect 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

