Middle of the Day Photography

I shot this image, titled “Towards the Bay”, at 10:30 in the morning.  Not the best time to get the best light, but I was out walking along the Bay near Crissy Field in San Francisco…saw this scene…and pushed the button…disregarding the time of day.  I’m not going to get into the discussion of best times to photograph, but sometimes you do what you’re inspired to do.

Because the light wasn’t that great (very flat), the color image just wasn’t very inspiring.  So…what does a good photographer do?  Convert to black and white.  And in this case, I used an infrared filter.  Now the image has some decent structure, contrast, and depth.

Towards the Bay

Towards the Bay

Here’s the before image.  And so you know, this was a handheld, two-image, two-stop, bracketed capture.  I blended the two color images using LR’s new HDR merge.  Not bad, but certainly not what I was envisioning.  I brought the color image into PS and added the infrared filter from Nik’s Silver Efix Pro2.  Then back to PS to remove incidental artifacts and add my watermark signature, then back to LR for a couple of other small touches.

Towards the Bay (HDR)

Towards the Bay (HDR)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So get out there and shoot away!  If the image has potential (in your eyes), then get creative and make it what you want.  Cheers all :-))

About Dan Shehan Photography

I’m a landscape photographer and call San Francisco my home. My favorite locations to shoot are around the Bay, within the City, and along the amazing California coastline. You can find my best photographs at: www.danshehanphotography.com
This entry was posted in Black & White, Landscape, Photography, Seascape and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Middle of the Day Photography

  1. I like both. For me they’re like. . ‘angry vs. calm nature.’

    Like

  2. kazg10 says:

    Yep more dynamic in B&W. Nice to know us vampires get out at other times of the day and photograph in the sun… I hope you didn’t get burnt 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elina says:

    The b&w version is a fabulous work of art, but the color one has a wonderful calm and real-life feel of a beautiful sunny day. I like both Dan! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lauramacky says:

    Ahhh…I love seeing what you see on the other side of the bay at 10:30! Beautiful shots. I’m looking forward to our early outing in a week or so! I will be there EARLY!!!!!!! hehehe

    Like

  5. Great image and processing Dan .. you make me feel so lazy with my images 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

