Three Bloods

As you can see, I went out to “try” and capture the Super/Full/Blood moon during the full lunar eclipse.  Unfortunately, the sky here in San Francisco wasn’t very clear.  I didn’t even see the moon until about a half hour after it rose over the horizon.  Yet I was patient and was able to make several captures.  These were the best I could do considering the sky’s condition.  It’s also my first time at blending multiple moons into one image.

It may be hard to notice, but this series is the moon coming out of total darkness and are about 3 minutes apart.  Hope those that could, went out and watched.  It really was quite a site to behold.  Cheers!

Triple Bloods

Triple Bloods

About Dan Shehan Photography

I’m a landscape photographer and call San Francisco my home. My favorite locations to shoot are around the Bay, within the City, and along the amazing California coastline. You can find my best photographs at: www.danshehanphotography.com
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Three Bloods

  1. I feel for you Dan!! The weather usually scuppers most astronomical events in the UK but it was clear last night. And my hubby had the day off work today so we traipsed off to a good view point in the Surrey hills 🙂 It was cold but magic! The start was just after 1am and it went on until after 5.30am. I have to say the start was brilliant but just before total eclipse I started getting real problems with condensation on all my equipment so was spending a lot of time clearing the lens and wiping everything dry. Then the mists rose! I had a tough time getting much detail of the blood moon itself and the reappearance was hazy. I just had to make the best of it though and having put everything through the raw converter I’m now getting excited working on the sequence in Photoshop 😀 I haven’t done much night photography so it’s all a great learning experience. I was amazed at how dark the moon is at full eclipse! Well done for getting what you could even with the elements against you. Many people just wouldn’t have even bothered! They’d have missed out altogether though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

